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 PRESUMPTIVE WHOLESALE PRICING FOR THE MONTH OF SEPTEMBER 2025 

The New Jersey milk market continues to be affected by varying pricing levels of conventional fluid milk. The Division has decided after review and survey of 
the current marketing conditions that presumptive pricing now must include Skim, 1%, and 2% as part of the general announcement.  The Division will 
continue to survey the wholesale market at the point where the milk enters retail sales to determine the current market average and presumed price for each type 
of conventional packaged milk. .   

According to N.J.A.C. 2:48-1.1 New Jersey is divided into two milk marketing areas and the Department announces in its monthly Class 1 Advanced Milk Price 
Announcement, two prices of raw milk cost converted to container size to determine variable cost. There for their will be two presumptive retail milk prices 
established each month which will follow the areas out lined in the regulation. To determine pricing one please see map posted to the web site.    

Each and every dealer is involved in the presumptive prices situation and will have the ability to justify their variable cost as outlined in N.J.A.C 2:52-7. The 
presumptive variable wholesale price established must be maintained until said dealer presents information with back up documentation showing in detail their 
variable cost of each type of milk product being sold below the presumptive price. If the variable cost is justified upon review by the Department, then and only 
then will the dealer or store be allowed to sell at or above their established variable cost. 
On June 1st, 2025 the amendments to the Federal Marketing order are put in to effect. Both pricing formulas and zone delineation are affected by the amended 
order.   With the new amendments New Jersey Department of Agriculture will be recognizing two zones for pricing of raw milk, calculating of variable cost 
and the calculation of presumptive prices.   
The two zones will be the $5.00 Newark Zone pricing and will be used in the metropolitan counties of Passaic, Bergen, Morris, Essex, Union, Somerset 
Middlesex, Monmouth and Ocean counties.  The $4.70 suburban/rural zone pricing will be used in the counties of Sussex, Warren, Hunterdon, Mercer, 
Burlington, Camden, Gloucester, Atlantic, Salem, Cumberland and Cape May counties.   
Effective May 31, 2025 there will no longer be a North and South Jersey presumptive price, as it will be replaced by the Metropolitan and Suburban/Rural 
pricing sheets. Please review and verify pricing at all levels with your staff and stores.    

PRESUMPTIVE WHOLESALE PRICING FOR THE MONTH SEPTEMBER 2025 

 Metropolitan Counties             Suburban/Rural Counties 
 Gallons              ½ Gallons            Gallons          ½ Gallons 

Whole Milk (4.6 – 6.0% BF)       $4.9072             $2.8196              $4.8743            $2.8013 
Whole Milk (3.6 – 4.5% BF)       $4.2071              $2.5545              $4.1798             $2.5383 
Whole Milk (3.25 BF) $3.8478              $2.3259            $3.8232  $2.3179 
            2% $3.5552              $2.1933             $3.5409             $2.1766 
            1% $3.3276              $2.0544              $3.2894             $2.0412 
          Skim               $3.1494              $1.9833              $3.1233             $1.9729 

Quantity Discounts – since the New Jersey Milk Control Act licenses stores based on volume N.J.A.C.2:56-1.2, a presumptive 
wholesale discount can be justified based on volumes into individual stores.   

License Fee           Volume of all Milk           % presumptive discount off 
  Milk products     presumptive wholesale       

    $30   less than 500 qt equivalents per week         use presumptive wholesale 
    $60       501 – 1500 qt equivalents per week             3% discount 
    $90      1501 – 3000 qt equivalents per week            5% discount 
    $120        more than 3001 qt equivalents per               7% discount 

NOTE: Their will only be one presumptive retail price announced and all retail sales to consumers must follow that pricing until justified. The 
wholesale discount is not and will not be used as a justification for stores to sell below the presumptive retail price. 
NOTE: Dealers must check store licenses. The amount that the store paid for a license is listed on the license. Any dealer found supplying store with a 
discount higher than the license fee paid will be in violation for not proving the variable cost prior to selling below the presumptive. 


